Year 1, Semester 2: Begin!

The good news is, school started last week. Which means I’m getting out of the house twice a week for class.

The bad news is, school started last week.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m really happy to be back in a learning environment and I’m finally getting the hang of my degree (which is, simultaneously, not as and way more complicated than I initially thought).

Going back to school was something that I pushed off for my previous job. I don’t think they ever knew about that, but it’s water over the bridge, or under the dam, or somewhere. I always wanted to continue my education, if only to take a few classes here and there.
Getting accepted to a program, while not difficult for me, was something that I debated doing.

Did I really want a grind of education? Did I want to go back to a schedule that would possibly conflict with my work, my family, and my social life?

Or, like my former boss, did I want to just take a course every so often about something that interested me, because I’m a huge nerd?

Nerd Status: semi-professional Points: +1000

Nerd Status: semi-professional
Points: +1000

In the end, the grind won out. If only because I like having set schedules. Schedules are a godsend, for parents and for the restless alike. Knowing that certain days of the week have a certain event give structure to the day, and a reason for getting dressed in the morning.
They also give me a reason for not lingering over my coffee, but I’ll let that pass.

But more than that, I wanted needed to do this for me.

I have not been so good about doing things for me lately – I can’t remember the last time I went to the doctor for a general checkup that did not involve prescriptions for antibiotics. The last time I really did something for myself was a massage that the hubby gave me as a gift.

There have been so many articles recently about how women need to give more to prove that they deserve [fill-in-the-blank with whatever]. And, naturally, there are even more articles about how women need to take a step back and not drive themselves crazy with [fill-in-the-blank with whatever] and focus on the things that really matter.

But I don’t think I’m going crazy over my degree. Twice a week is nothing. Also, one of my classes this semester is about reality television. I think I’m doing myself a favor in that regard.

P.S. – All those books in the picture are for a seminar paper for the class I took last semester. And I will be taking out more from the library once I’m done with these.

Leave a Reply

