Not the next Julie/Julia project

The other night, while the hubby and I were both relaxing after long days of work and restlessness, we were talking about my blog. I was trying to run ideas by him as far as how often to post, Tags and Categories, etc. – he works in Marketing, and while we both understand the importance of Social Media in things like this, he’s a few levels above me.

The hubby asked me, “Wouldn’t it be awesome if this became the next Julie/Julia project?”
I responded with a probably unexpected “No; why?” The hubby then gave me a look and said, “Because then you would be famous and we wouldn’t have to work, because we would be living off the book and movie royalties.”

And as amazing as that seems, it doesn’t interest me. For every Julie/Julia project there are hundreds, if not thousands, of blogs that don’t get any further than the poster’s most intimate circle of friends. In the early days of blogging, some of my high school friends used it as a (fairly boring) daily journal of what they ate that day.
There was no hook, no interest in following something like that.

But the blog has evolved into something more. It’s actually okay to post daily journals of what you eat now; this is more commonly referred to as Instagram. And while I would not do that because I prefer putting the food in my mouth, I do feel the need to get my many thoughts out on (digital) paper.

But more than that, I don’t want to be the next Julia/Julia project. That’s been done already. And although it worked to everyone’s advantage, I don’t want to be known forever more as version 2.0 of Julie/Julia.
Also, I couldn’t cook everything in “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” because I keep Kosher. Lobster is kind of a no-no.

While I don’t expect to gain a huge following, I’m not going to lie and say that it wouldn’t be awesome. I would be extremely happy if my opinions were shared globally, but I’m also realistic.

For now, I’m happy to stay in my little corner and hone my writing skills.

But if, somewhere down the line, my blog does manage to get picked up by Paramount, I would really want Jennifer Lawrence to play me. We can make that happen, right?

3 thoughts on “Not the next Julie/Julia project

  1. Hah! I was just talking about this too. There are so many good writers and profound musings hidden around on the internet in secret corners you’d never expect. What I’ve learned is that it’s just so important THAT you write. Especially for someone who loves doing it so much. It is very realistic to expect that you wouldn’t get much back from it, but hey – theres always a new generation of writers that we need!
    I think the same thing you do. How great would it be if you were read often – then you have some kind of reassurance that what you’re writing matters. Guess what though? It does! Keep writing, it’s so important.
    -M

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      And I’m sorry for not replying until now – I’m still trying to get the hang of this! (although, I probably shouldn’t be apologizing, right?)
      What you said is so spot on, and I’m finding that if I don’t write a post for whatever reason I get even more restless. Which is kind of what I was going for when I started this – I wanted to get back in the habit of writing and being creative; and if people like me all the better!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

